STD Results

Dean-Street1

I dropped by Dean Street Express yesterday, a drop-in service in Soho where you can get tested for free all STIs/STDs and get a result in a matter of hours.

It was my first time and I was expecting your typical medical reception room, your nurses in white coats, but it was actually more like a club, with top 40 radio, funky designs on the walls, cute guys behind reception being helpful and gay men lining up to use the loos (to do their tests.)

I asked them to test me on absolutely everything, which they did. It involved swabs of my throat, my rectum, piss in a bottle and blood from a finger and from an arm vein. All tests came back negative.

If you live in London or near and have any doubts about your status, I highly recommend you visit them and get yourself checked. It takes only about 30 minutes – it’s very quick – and they text message you the results.

Later, perversely enough, I dropped by Broadwick Street’s toilets. Was surprised to find all urinals taken up, all cabins closed, and four guys standing around by the sinks looking a bit confused. There were way too many guys cruising for such a small toilet so I immediately left.

Got home, the sun was out, put on my running gear and went for a blissful long run.

This entry was posted in Cruising and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to STD Results

  1. Londonboy34 says:

    30 minutes is pretty quick, if you go on Saturday morning there’s a massive queue of shame outside from first opening and it can take nearly 2 hours. 🙂 Very good service and highly recommended though.

    • doriansmith5 says:

      Oh wow, I wonder how many in the queue are regulars!

      • Londonboy34 says:

        Yes, I also wonder how many are there for PreP to try undo the excesses of the night before… The staff are very non judgemental, which must be tough. One of them told me as many as 1 in 5 guys in central London have HIV.

  2. Alex says:

    Hi Dorian, I thought Broadwick str toilets were closed long time ago? Just went pass yesterday and couldn’t see any new toilet… Where is it?

    • doriansmith5 says:

      Hey Alex, there was a lot of scaffolding around the toilets when I went, so maybe work was about to begin on it? If it’s still there, it would be in the middle of the street (like it was before.) I wouldn’t be surprised though if the council removed it completely.

      • Alex says:

        You know what, I’ve been a few times since your comment above but seems like no one bothered to clean this space. It just becomes grungy & dirty with no possibility to wash your hands. Public was ok but nothing special…. some people even looked alarmingly psychotic (perhaps it was just me being paranoid :)).

  3. doriansmith5 says:

    I don’t think you’re being paranoid Alex. 😉

    Which other places do you like to cruise?

Leave a Reply

